Fatherless

with 3 comments

During Thanksgiving I have reflected on how thankful I am for a relatively functional family. My married parents have set good examples and worked hard at taking care of my sister and me.

What makes me so thankful but disheartened is what I know about the Fatherless today. Soapbox or not, I pray hard to be a part of filling the father gap in my country, Ethiopia, and the rest of the world. Knowing and witnessing the importance of father figures for all of our youth, makes me cry out for solutions and ways to fill this huge void of fathers.

My heart aches daily for the fatherless, but even more for the men who have neglected their responsibility as fathers, role models, protectors, lovers, and so on.MY heart aches for the cycles of unhealthy fathering passed done through generations! I think about it all the time praying that God will use me for a greater good to get men back to how God destined them since day one.

Just look at our boys… There isn’t a better example I know of that proves the desperate need of youth to have someone act as a guide and example in their lives. I doubt I will find a house with more genuine joy, growth, challenges, faith, laughter, love, then our humble home in Addis Ababa. It didn’t take rocket science to transform our boys from the sewers and filth of past lives.. I expect 16 potentially great fathers to come out of our loving boys!

God please allow me, and show me the way to duplicate the hope and love exemplified though what you have done in our boys. I Thank YOU, my Father in Heaven, for my father on earth and my ability to stand up for our amazing boys.. God show me the way to combine my heart for the fatherless with a sustainable action plan to reach them with your love!

I pray all of us more fortunate experience authentic gratitude this Thanksgiving but remember all the fatherless who have no guide, love, or care.

Here is an example of one of our boys, some day a GREAT FATHER. Pause it in the first second to peak at the joy! HOLY HEART WARMING BATMAN!

Written by adamtaylorethiopia

November 26, 2011 at 5:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hoorah and amen. Your desire is so demonstrated in the way your arms have been wrapped around the boys you have taken off the streets, cared for them, teach them and share the love of our Almighty God and Heavenly Father. May you continue to encourage these boys to become the mighty men God has created them to be sharing with others their value and precious purpose for which they each were created.

    Marty Emeritz

    November 26, 2011 at 9:08 pm

  2. Adam: Your life’s preparation has been so you know what it means to care when your heart breaks. You thought things were crumbling all around you and God has been building all around you, all the time. As you face the next steps, may God give you courage to live in expectancy of how He is going to use all this, and not in expectation, or what your ideas or plans are. Thanks for risking yourself. Doc

    Doc

    November 28, 2011 at 2:16 pm

  3. Wonderful writing about thankfulness and the fatherless…such an important heart issue for so many boys and girls. Thank you for writing this, keep writing.

    karen

    December 10, 2011 at 5:04 am


Leave a Reply

